Orchestrator
2023.4
false
Banner background image
Orchestrator User Guide
Last updated Dec 6, 2023

Managing System Administrators

System administrators, also known as host administrators, have the required privileges to access the host administration portals and to configure all host-level settings, which apply for all your organizations and tenants.

First System Administrator

After completing the installation, the admin user account is automatically provisioned which has system administrator privileges.

Where can I get the credentials?

  • User name: The user name is always admin.
  • Password: The password for the first system administrator account is the one you set during installation:

You can use this account to log in to the host portals and, if needed, create additional system administrator accounts.

Adding a System Administrator

When adding system administrators, you can create a local account for them, or add a directory account.

  1. Log in to the Management portal with a system administrator account.

    The Management portal opens.

  2. Select the Users tab from the menu on the left.
  3. Click Add User in the top right of the page.

    The Add User panel opens from the right of the window.

    • If the new account will use their username and password (basic authentication) to log in, fill in the password for the account. The system administrator may be required to reset their password on first login, depending on your security settings.
    • If the new account will log in with Google or Azure Active Directory, you must fill in the email and it should match the one tied to their account in the external provider.
    • For a new log in via SAML, the fields will match the selected SAML user mapping. If the user mapping is set to by user email, then the email must be filled in. If the user mapping is set to by username, then the username must match the username in the SAML identity provider.
    • For a new log in via Windows Authentication (Active Directory), the username must be of the form user@domain - for example, john.doe@uipath.
  4. Fill in the fields with the details for the new system administrator account.

    You are required to define the password for the account. The system administrator may be required to reset their password on first login, depending on your security settings.

  5. Click Save to create the account and close the panel.

    The new account is now displayed in the users list.

    An email notification is sent to the provided email address if host-level SMTP settings have been configured. Depending on your security settings, the new system administrator may be required to confirm their email address.

  6. Provide the username (or email address) and password you provided for the account to the new system administrator so that they can log in.

Editing Account Details or Resetting the Password

System administrators can, at any point, change the details of another system administrator account, including the account password.

To update this information:

  1. Log in to the Management portal with a system administrator account.

    The Management portal opens.

  2. Select the Users tab from the menu on the left.
  3. Click the Edit icon docs image at the right end of the account row.

    The Edit User panel opens from the right of the window.

  4. Edit the information as needed.
  5. Click Save to apply your changes and close the panel.

Deleting System Administrator Accounts

You can delete system administrator accounts at any time to prohibit a user from accessing the host portals any longer.

Note: You cannot delete your own account, however. You also cannot delete the last system administrator account. This is to prevent getting locked out of the host portals.

To remove a system administrator account:

  1. Log in to the Management portal with a system administrator account.

    The Management portal opens.

  2. Select the Users tab from the menu on the left.
  3. Click the Delete icon docs image at the right end of the account row.
  4. In the confirmation dialog, click Delete to confirm the action.

The account is removed from the users list and can no longer log in to the host portal.

Was this page helpful?

Get The Help You Need
Learning RPA - Automation Courses
UiPath Community Forum
Uipath Logo White
Trust and Security
© 2005-2024 UiPath. All rights reserved.