Insights
2022.4
false
  • Release Notes
      • 2022.4.1
      • 2022.4.2
      • 2022.4.3
      • 2022.4.4
      • 2022.4.5
      • 2022.4.6
      • 2022.4.7
      • 2022.4.8
      • 2022.4.9
      • 2022.4.10
      • 2022.4.11
    • User Migration Tool Release Notes
  • Getting Started
  • Access and Permissions
  • Interacting with Insights
  • Logs
  • Troubleshooting
Banner background image
Insights
Last updated Mar 12, 2024

Dashboards

Viewing Dashboards

To view a dashboard in Insights, click on the corresponding tile from the grid. The dashboard will open with any pre-configured filters, highlighted in the Filters section (located above the dashboard tiles).



Creating New Dashboards

To create a new dashboard, take the following steps:

  1. Navigate to the Insights home page.
  2. Click the Create New Dashboard button on the top-right corner of the page.



  3. In the pop-up window, enter a name for the dashboard and click the Create button. You will be directed to a blank dashboard page with the following message and button:



  4. Click Edit Dashboard and then select Add Tile. You can now see a window asking you to choose an Explore. This means that you need to specify which of the entities you would like fields from (Jobs, queues, or robot logs). If you have ROI Editor permissions, you will also see the Process and Queue Manual Values Explores.
  5. Click the Explore that corresponds to the fields you want to include in your dashboard. For example: Process Name is available under the Jobs explore, Queue Name is under the Queues explore, etc.

    Note: If you pick the wrong explore and want to switch to another one, you need to click Cancel and start again.


For detailed instructions on how to proceed next, we recommend reading Looker’s guides for creating dashboards, found below.

The following pages help you create dashboards through the Looker UI:

Duplicating Dashboards

You can duplicate any dashboard in My Dashboards by clicking the Share/Duplicate button on the dashboard tile and selecting Duplicate.

A copy of the selected dashboard is created and appears in the My Dashboards section. This copy is completely separate and can be edited without any impact to the original dashboard.



Changing the Dashboard Time Zones

Any user can select the time zone displayed in any dashboard. To update it, go to the dashboard's three-dot menu, select Each tile's time zone, and pick the desired time zone. The default dashboard time zone is the same as the one set for the respective tenant in Orchestrator. This will be accessible under the Viewer Time Zone option from the dropdown.

Dashboards created will default to this Viewer Time Zone, and this time zone will be maintained when a user clicks Explore From Here on any dashboard. When adding or editing a tile in an existing dashboard, the tile will default to UTC.

Exploring Data

When creating new tiles, you have the option to Explore from Here.



Clicking this button allows you to open a tile creation window with the existing data selection. This allows you to freely experiment with any tile edits without affecting your dashboard.

You can then save your new tile into a new dashboard, or save to an existing one by clicking the gear menu on the top-right corner of the explore, and then selecting Save to Dashboard. In the resulting window, select the Group folder to save to Tenant, and the Personal folder to save to My Dashboards.

Navigating Between Dashboards

To switch between dashboards, you need to go back to the Insights home page, and then select the dashboard you are interested in. To get to the Insights home page when you are viewing a dashboard, you can either click the Insights button on the left navigation menu, or select the UiPath or Insights logo on the top left of the page. You can also select "Dashboards" from the 3-dot action menu on the top right of the window.



Filtering Dashboards

Insights supports creation of pre-defined filters, as well as cross-filtering via interaction with the dashboard. Pre-defined filters are created during the dashboard edit experience.

To create a pre-defined filter:

  1. Navigate to your desired dashboard and open it in edit mode.
  2. Click the filter button, and select the Add Filter option.



  3. Search for the field you'd like to filter on, and select it.
  4. Pick the filter type, provide a default value if desired, and select which tiles this filter should apply to under the Tiles to Update tab. If this is a dashboard-level filter, you will most likely want the filter to apply to all tiles on the dashboard.

To cross-filter a dashboard, make sure that cross filtering is enabled by toggling it "on" in the filter menu when editing a dashboard. Once you've saved the dashboard, or if you're interacting with any of the UiPath Templates, click items in widget tiles that you'd like to filter the dashboard by, and the selected criteria will appear to the right of your pre-defined filters at the top of the dashboard. You can repeat this for as many filters as you need. To remove a cross-filter, use the X button next to it.

Editing Filters

  • To edit a pre-defined filter, open the dashboard in edit mode and follow the steps above to access the filter menu. Make sure you save the dashboard once you're done making the desired changes.
  • You can hide or show filters by clicking the Filter icon.



  • If you'd like to change the current value on a pre-defined filters, make your desired changes and then click the blue update button to the left of the Filter icon in order to update the dashboard with the latest selection.
  • Opening the 3-dot menu to the right of the filter button displays the following options:

    Option

    Description

    Clear cache and refresh

    Reloads the dashboard with the latest data from the database.

    Edit Dashboard

    Only available if this is a dashboard that you created.

    Download

    Downloads the dashboard in a format of choice (covered in the Exporting Dashboards section below).

    Schedule delivery

    Sends a copy of the dashboard to a chosen recipient immediately or on a schedule that you set (covered in the Scheduling Reports section).

    Move to trash

    Deletes the dashboard. Only available if this is a dashboard that you created

Sharing Dashboards With Tenant

Tenant dashboards are available to all Insights users. However, only users with Designer permissions can contribute to them. Viewers can view all dashboards shared to Tenant but cannot share any there themselves.

To share a dashboard to Tenant, take the following steps:

  1. Navigate to the My Dashboards tab on the home page, and find the tile of the dashboard you want to share to Tenant. Click the Copy icon.
  2. From the resulting menu, click Share with Tenant. The dashboard will then appear in the Tenant tab with the user who shared it as the owner.

    Note: To make a local copy of a dashboard from Tenant back to My Dashboards for customizing, Designer users can use the Copy to My Dashboards icon.

Deleting Dashboards

You can delete dashboards individually using the Delete button on the dashboard tile. Alternatively, you can open a particular dashboard, click the three-dot menu in the top-right corner of the dashboard window, and select Move to trash.

If a dashboard is accidentally deleted, please reach out to UiPath Technical Support for assistance in recovering it.

To find out how to capture logs if needed to debug with the support team, check out page.

Was this page helpful?

Get The Help You Need
Learning RPA - Automation Courses
UiPath Community Forum
Uipath Logo White
Trust and Security
© 2005-2024 UiPath. All rights reserved.