# Backup and restore

> Back up and restore your Cartographer settings, including secure settings tied to your user account and machine.

## Backup

To back up your Cartographer settings, take the following steps:

1. Close Cartographer.
2. Copy the entire settings directory — see [Settings file locations](settings-file-locations.md).
3. Store the copy in a safe location.

## Restore

To restore your Cartographer settings from a backup, take the following steps:

1. Close Cartographer.
2. Replace the settings directory with your backup.
3. Restart Cartographer.

:::note
Secure settings are tied to your user account and machine. They may not restore correctly on a different machine or user account.
:::
