# Project-level access control

> :::note
This is only applicable for newly-created tenants. For existing tenants, check the [Permissions](ai-center-access-control.md#permissions) section.
:::

## Overview

:::note
This is only applicable for newly-created tenants. For existing tenants, check the [Permissions](ai-center-access-control.md#permissions) section.
:::

To better protect sensitive business data stored as training or evaluation datasets, you can set up access control based on your roles.

You can set up permissions for both groups or users for the following pages:

* At tenant level:
  * Project: everyone can access their project, but only users with `Read` permissions on project-level can view projects they are not part of.
  * Licenses: read-only.
  * Users: roles can be managed from specific page.
  * Roles: you can create roles for users.
* At project level:
  * Dataset
  * Pipelines
  * Data Labeling
  * ML Packages
  * ML Skills
  * ML Logs (read-only)
  * Settings: user management at project level

### Default roles

The following roles and permissions are created by default for **AI Center**:

* Administrator: all permissions granted
* Tenant administrator:
  * Project: create, read, update, and delete
  * Licenses: read-only
  * Users: create, read, update, and delete
  * Roles: create, read, update, and delete
  * Profiles: read-only
* Project creator:
  * Project: create and update
  * Profile: read-only
* Data scientist:
  * Dataset: create, read, update, and delete
  * Pipelines: create, read, update, and delete
  * Data Labeling: create, read, update, and delete
  * ML Packages: create, read, update, and delete
  * ML Skills: create, read, update, and delete
  * ML Logs: read-only
* Project administrator:
  * Dataset: create, read, update, and delete
  * Pipelines: create, read, update, and delete
  * Data Labeling: create, read, update, and delete
  * ML Packages: create, read, update, and delete
  * ML Skills: create, read, update, and delete
  * ML Logs: read-only
  * Settings: create, read, update, and delete
* Users manager:
  * Settings: create, read, update, and delete

## Default group and role assignments

By default, group and role assignments are assigned when provisioning a tenant and when creating a new project.

### Automation Suite

The following default groups and roles are assigned when provisioning a tenant:

* The **Administrator** group is added to all **AI Center** tenants with the **Administrator** role.
* The **Automation Developer** group is added to all **AI Center** tenants with the **Project Creator** role.
* The **Automation User** group is added to all **AI Center** tenants with no role.
* The **Everyone** group is added with no role.

The following default groups and roles are assigned when creating a new project:

* The **Project Creator** is added to the project with the **Project Administrator** role.
* The **Administrator** group is added with the **Users Manager** role.

  Additionally, if the project creator decided not to restrict user access while creating the project, the **Everyone** group is added with the **Data Scientist** role.

### AI Center On-premises

The following default groups and roles are assigned when provisioning a tenant:

* The **Administrator** group is added to all **AI Center** tenants with the **Administrator** role.
* All **Orchestrator** tenant users are added with no role.

Each time a user is added to the tenant, this should be reflected in the user management page on **AI Center**.

The following default groups and roles are assigned when creating a new project:

* The **Project Creator** is added to the project with the **Project Administrator** role.
* The **Project Administrator** has the option to make this project accessible to everyone with the **Project Administrator** role, or manually set permissions at project level.

## Profile page

The profile page displays two tables with permissions information on two levels:

* Tenant level
* Project level

The tenant table is static, only displaying permissions at tenant level.

In the project table you can view permissions at project level, choosing the project you are interested in from the drop-down list. You can also search for a project by typing in the drop-down field.

![docs image](https://dev-assets.cms.uipath.com/assets/images/ai-center/ai-center-109680-84f501be.webp)

## Restricting access to an existing project

To restrict or unrestrict access to an existing project, follow the procedure below.

1. Log in to **UiPath AI Center**.
2. Click on the three dots button (⁝) on a project card and choose **Edit** from the drop-down menu.

   ![docs image](https://dev-assets.cms.uipath.com/assets/images/ai-center/ai-center-109161-3a4657a8.webp)
3. In the **Edit project** page, turn on the **Restrict access** toggle.

   ![docs image](https://dev-assets.cms.uipath.com/assets/images/ai-center/ai-center-107466-e3f1cb0f.webp)
4. Go to the **User Management** page in your project.

   ![docs image](https://dev-assets.cms.uipath.com/assets/images/ai-center/ai-center-107330-437ec258.webp)
5. Click on the three dots button (⁝) next to a user or a group to edit the user assignment or click **Assign** to assign a new user with the desired role.
6. Select the desired role for the user from the drop-down list.

   ![docs image](https://dev-assets.cms.uipath.com/assets/images/ai-center/ai-center-106683-98081ed6.webp)
7. If you want to add a new user or group, click **Assign** in the **User Management** page.
8. To delete a user or a group, click on the three dots button (⁝) next to a user or a group and select **Delete** from the drop-down list.

   ![docs image](https://dev-assets.cms.uipath.com/assets/images/ai-center/ai-center-107066-6010f0d7.webp)

   :::note
   When deleting a user, only the roles are removed from the list. The username is still displayed in the list, even though it has no roles assigned.
   :::
